The British Iris Society is delighted to announce the following awards for 2019.

The Dykes Medal is the supreme award of the BIS awarded annually to the most outstanding cultivar in the Dykes Trial that is of a sufficiently high standard. It was awarded to Olga Wells for her iris ‘Hever Castle’, this is Olga’s first Dykes medal although she has been breeding iris for a good number of years. She was awarded the Hyrbidisers Award in 2013.







The Foster Memorial Plaque to Dr Nina Alexeeva. This is a special personal award to those of whatever nationality who contribute to the advancement of the genus Iris. The plaque was instituted in 1926 in recognition of Sir Michael Foster’s achievements and assiduous efforts in collecting and hybridising irises. Nina has worked extensively to acquire a comprehensive knowledge of the iris species of Russia and the former states of the USSR. She is only the second Russian to be given this award, the first being Prof. Rodionenko who Nina worked with for over 40 years.



The Pilkington Award was awarded to Jeremy Handy, Fern Harden, Rex Harden and Anne Milner in recognition of their considerable hard work to make Gardeners’ World Live such a success for the BIS, resulting in a Platinum Award. The Pilkington Award was instituted in 1961 by Mr Geoffrey Pilkington, VMH, a founder member of the British Iris Society in recognition of outstanding personal service to the Society.


We are also delighted to announce that we have a new Honorary Member, Brita Carson in recognition of her many years as Editor of our Year Books.  She joins Cy Bartlett, Sheila Ecklin, Jennifer Hewitt, Sidney Linnegar, Brian Price, Chris Towers and Olga Wells.